Opinion Pieces

Movie Review: Spy

Hey guys!

Last week I posted about movies I was excited to see and last Wednesday I went to see Spy starring Melissa McCarthy, Jason Statham, Jude Law, Rose Byrne and Miranda Hart. Also if any of you live near an Odeon cinema they’re doing some great deals during the week like Student Tuesdays and discounts on Wednesdays where tickets start off at €4.50 and you can get a medium popcorn and drink for a fiver, it’s a great deal and since I go every week with my boyfriend I was thinking of maybe starting a new segment doing movie reviews, what do you guys think? I’ll be going to see the Entourage movie next so let me know if you’d like a review in the comments or like this post 🙂 I’m not going to pretend that I’ll be amazing at writing reviews or have a great structure, I’m just writing things as they come into my head but whatever, if you like them I’ll keep doing them.

Anyway back to Spy. I didn’t really know what this film would be like when I was going in because I hadn’t actually heard too much about it but I love Melissa McCarthy and I was looking forward to seeing what Jason Statham would do with a comedy role butI was watching Youtuber Philip DeFranco during the week and he had great praise for it so we decided to go see it.

Honestly, I can totally say that it was hilarious. Miranda Hart and Melissa McCarthy are fantastic together and Rose Byrne makes an excellent villain, she’s so sassy it was great, she’s the girl you love to hate, she’s a bitch but you respect her for it if you get me. Also I have never seen Jason Statham being clumsy before and it was the weirdest thing to watch, weird but funny. The soundtrack was so “Girl Kicks Ass” too and I am definitely planning on listening to that a few more times if I can find the complete playlist on Youtube. Melissa McCathy is hilarious as usual and she really shines in this movie, playing both the unassuming girl you’d expect (and be bored of) from most typical rom-com chick flick type movies and then turning into this amazing kick-ass spy which I loved. The casting was fantastic for this flick. I really think this is the best character I’ve ever seen her play and I hope there’ll be a sequel. Another brilliant thing was how her character handles Jason Statham throughout the movie, aw so good.

I’m not going to tell you the plot line because you can find that anywhere and I think it’s more fun going into a movie not really knowing what to expect. One critque I do have though is that a lot of the best bits were in the trailer so that when that scene came on I was thinking “oh I know what’s going to happen here I’ve seen it” a few times, which I think took away from the comedy of it. But honestly that’s probably just me being nit-picky.

I whole-heartedly recommend going to see this movie and I can’t wait until it comes out on dvd to watch it again, I have a feeling it’s going to become a firm favourite of mine.

If you have seen it let me know what you guys think!

Leave a Reply

