Blog

Skincare Routine

Hey guys!

I wrote this post a while ago about my favourite skincare products and how I find them but just completely forgot to post it so here you go, hope you enjoy!

I haven’t done a proper skincare post in a while and I’ve changed my routine a good bit so I thought it might be nice to do an updated one. I’ve definitely started to pay more attention to my skin and I think that’s honestly from blogging and looking at other bloggers and what they’re using. Also, honestly, vanity. I’m very aware I’m getting older and that my skin will reflect that so yeah to be honest I wanna be an awesome looking 40 year old so…skincare (yes I know I’m not 40 for another 20 years but still, can’t start too early.) I’m going to go through everything I’d use in a week since I wouldn’t use all of these products everyday, these are not in order so if you want to know how I use them just message me on any of my social media! Also I’ve included a few alternatives that I’ve picked up to some products, because, yanno #StudentLife.

(Side note, since most of my products are knackered from thorough use I’m going to use pictures from the websites)

Dermalogica Daily Micro Exfoliator;

This came as part of our Déise Bloggers goodie bag from our Mad Hatter event along with
some other Dermalogica products
so I was excited to try this since I’m dermalogica-microfoliantnew to the range. Typically I’ll use this once or twice a week. Its a powder that you pour into the palm of your hand and mix with some water to create a paste. It feels really gentle on the skin but it also feels like you’ve done a good scrub afterwards. You can use your hands to do this or also a cleansing mitt like this Glove Your Body one.  I got a sample size but the 75g bottle will set you back €53. I do like it, but yanno, student so I don’t know if I’d be willing to spend that much on it but if you can get your hands on a sample size go for it. Check it out here on the website.

Declaré Cleansing Milk

declare-cleansing-milkThis is another amazing product that came from our Déise Bloggers goodie bags. Generally I save this for when I’ve worn loads of makeup and I feel like micellar water and toner just won’t cut it. Normally I’ll just use my fingers to work this in and then wash off with a cloth and afterwards my skin feels super soft. It definitely wouldn’t take all the makeup off though so I wouldn’t recommend using this on its own. Again, I have a sample size but the full bottle can be bought from Meaghers Pharmacy for €20. I’m sure most pharmacies would have it too.

Sukin Oil-Balancing and Charcoal Anti-Pollution Face Masque

This is my new holy grail product. I picked this up in TK Maxx for €6 and I love it. I use it
once or twice a week depending on how my skin feels and I’ve sukin.jpgbarely made a dent in it even though I’ve had it for a few months now, a little bit goes a long way and you don’t need to cake your face in it. I normally put it on in the bath and leave it on for 15-20 minutes (after I’ve washed and exfoliated my face.) I have an oily t-zone and I find this helps great with it as well as helping to minimise pores and bring down spots. You can pick it up from Holland and Barrett for €12.79.

Vichy Normaderm Night Detox

vichy-night-detoxAgain another sample from our Déise Bloggers goodie bag. This was a very small sample so I’ve only used it a handful of times but I found it good when I did. It was very cooling on the skin and when I woke up my skin didn’t felt tight or dry or anything. Its €19 from Boots for 40ml and if I wasn’t a broke ass student I’d probably pick it up but I am so I shant, but if you guys do let me know how you find it.

Skincode Revitalising Eye Contour Cream

You guys are going to kill me with all the samples. Again, another one from our goodie skincode-eye-creambag. I have to say before I used this I’ve never used an eye cream before even though so many people say how important they are and I have to say I found this product really great. I have trouble sleeping through the night most nights so I always have bags and dark circles but I really found this made my eyes brighter and reduced the bags a lot. I got about 2 weeks out of the sample I had, another product where a little bit goes a long way. Again, even though I really did find this to be a great product, the price tag doesn’t agree with me, you can buy it here for €50 for a 15ml tub.

Boots Essentials Cucumber Eye Gel

boots-gelThis is a great alternative I’ve found to the Skincode eye cream, and probably the best part? The price tag, I picked this up in my local Boots for €2 but you can pick it up online here. Again, after I’ve finished my routine I apply this last to all around my eye socket area. Its better to pat instead of rubbing it in so you don’t stretch the skin around your eyes. If you have any other great alternatives let me know so I can share them!

Pennys Love To Glow Moisturiserpennys-love-to-glow

I absolutely adore this moisturiser. I picked up my first pot back in February or March and
it lasted me until late June, I’m on my second pot now and I still have loads left to go and its nearly October. All for like €3.50. You should still be able to pick this up in your local Pennys, I know they also have 2 new moisturisers out in their range but I haven’t tried them yet, if you have let me know! I love the feeling of my skin after I’ve used this product, it smells amazing and I really do find it brightens  up your skin thanks to the vitamin E in it. Definitely worth picking up.

Boots Botanics Night Moisturiser 

boots-night-creamIf you’ve been following me for a while you’ll know I picked up the day moisturiser of this brand a few months back (see review here.) I picked this up as an alternative to the Vichy night detox cream. This was on sale in boots for I got it for 3.50. I’m a much bigger fan of this than the day cream, I find its not as strong feeling when you put it on your skin (if that makes sense?) I find it definitely brightens up the skin and goes great with my Pennys day moisturiser. I’d definitely repurchase this.

This post is already fairly long so I’ll do another one talking about my favourite cleansers and toners! Hope you guys enjoyed and let me know if you have any recommendations I should try out

Becky x

Leave a Reply

